The following is a list of Frequently Asked Questions about License Renewal for RN / LPN applicants.
- What are the requirements for renewing my license?
Renewal applicants must meet one of the following practice requirements:
- Practiced as a nurse for 960 hours or more in the past 5 years (See the 960 hour / 5 year practice requirement FAQs for more information) OR
- Graduated from a nursing program and obtained a degree within past 5 years OR
- Completed an Arizona Board approved refresher course in the past 5 years OR
- Obtained an advanced nursing degree in the past 5 years (i.e. LPN to RN, RN to BSN, masters, or doctorate).
- What are the fees to renew, inactivate or retire my license?
All fees are in U.S. dollars and are non-refundable
- Renewal fee is $160.00 (Plus a $3.00 convenience fee for online renewal) for a 4-year renewal (Required). Fees are non-refundable.
- Obtaining temporary license for a refresher course – No Charge
- Placing license on inactive or retirement status – No Charge
If you have worked after May 2nd of the renewal year, a late fee of $50.00 is due per month up to a total late fee of $200.00 plus a completed Late / Invalid License Questionnaire. Please see the Applications & Forms page for the form.
- How do I renew my APRN, CNM or CNS certification?
If you are an Advanced Practice Nurse Practitioner, Certified Nurse Midwife or Clinical Nurse Specialist, your certification will expire when your RN license expires.
Note: Official verification or certification, including issue and expiration dates with category/specialty, must be provided directly to the Board by the credentialing agency. If available, online verification directly from the agency is acceptable.
- I've changed my name, how do I notify the Board?
A licensee, applicant or a certified nursing assistant who legally changes names must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any name change. The applicant shall submit a copy of any official document evidencing the name change. Do not send original documents.
Provide documentation to verify license/certificate holder’s previous name (i.e. birth certificate, a social security card, marriage license, divorce decree, High School diploma) and documentation that verifies the licensee/certificate holder’s current name (i.e. divorce decree, driver’s license, social security card, marriage license).
Download the Name Change form from the Applications & Forms page (See Other Forms).
- How do I renew my CRNA certification?
If you are a CRNA, that privilege expires when your RN license expires. The Board must receive official certification/re-certification from the National Board on Certification & Re-certification of Nurse Anesthetists in order for you to renew your CRNA privileges.
Note: Arizona State Board of Nursing will obtain online verification directly from the National Board on Certification & Re-certification of Nurse Anesthetists.
- How do I inactivate or retire my license?
If you wish to inactivate or retire your license, please do so through the AZ Nurse Portal.
- I've been criminally charged or convicted of a felony. What should I do?
Reporting of Criminal Charges
Applicants for licensure/certification must notify the Board of criminal charges within 10 days of being charged. For further information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.
The Board shall revoke a nursing license or multi-state privileges or deny licensure if the applicant has one or more felony convictions that have not previously been disclosed to the Board and has not received an absolute discharge from the sentences for all felony convictions 3 or more years prior to the date of filing an application. If this law pertains to you, your application will not be processed, and proceedings for revocation of your Arizona license or multi-state privileges in Arizona or denial of your application shall be instituted by the Board. For further information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.
- How long does the Board have to process my application?
The Board is required to process applications for licensure within certain time periods, per Nurse Practice Act R4-19-102. Applicable statute and section: A.R.S. §§ 32- 1606(B)(5), 32-1642; R4-19-305.
Item Days Board Overall Time Frame Without Investigation 180 Board Overall Time Frame With Investigation 270 Board Administrative Completeness Review Time Frame 30 Applicant Time to Respond to Deficiency Notice 270 Board Substantive Review Time Frame Without Investigation 90 Board Substantive Review Time Frame With Investigation 240 Applicant Time to Respond to Comprehensive Written Request 150
- How can I check the status of my application?
To check the status of your application, go to Nursys.com.
Note: It may take up to 4 days to process an application.
- When is my license due for renewal?
Renewals can be submitted up to 2 months before the renewal due date or within the 30 days following the due date. If you are submitting an application more than 30 days after your renewal due date and worked on an Arizona license beyond those 30 days, a late fee is required.
To check the renewal due date for your license, visit Nursys.com and perform a search for your license.
- How do I reactivate my inactive license?
To reactivate an inactive license, you must do so through the AZ Nurse Portal.
- What is a deficiency notice?
When you submit an application, the Board will send you a deficiency notice identifying any elements of the application process which remain outstanding. If you fail to respond to a deficiency notice within the applicable time period, your application will be withdrawn. After withdrawal, if you are still interested in obtaining licensure you would need to submit a new application and applicable fee.
- I paid for a 4 year renewal. Why was does my license have an expiration date less than 4 years?
If you have an “Alien” status, the expiration date on your license is the expiration date on your Lawful Presence document. Your license expiration date will be extended when you provide the Board with a new Lawful Presence document with another expiration date.
- Can I use Volunteer hours or Private Duty hours as part of my 960 hour practice requirement?
Yes. When you submit your renewal application, you need to provide a description of the nursing knowledge used or duties performed on a separate sheet, along with your employers name, address, phone number, your title, start of employment date, end of employment date and total number of hour worked/volunteered in the past 5 years. Care of family members, does not meet the 960 hour requirement unless R4-19-312 (c) (2) is met.
- If I have not work 960 hours in the past 5 years, what do I need to do to renew my license?
You will have to take a Refresher course. To view the Approved Refresher course List, go to Refresher Programs and click on the Approved Programs tab. You need to choose a refresher program and enroll. Then you submit to the Board a RN / LPN Renewal application, a “Request for Temporary License for Refresher Course Only” form, a copy of the invoice showing you paid for a refresher course (full or partial), documentation of legal status in the U.S. and the appropriate renewal fee.