The following is a list of Frequently Asked Questions about Certification by Endorsement for CNA applicants. 

   Who is eligible for Certification by Endorsement?

An individual is eligible for certification by endorsement if he/she:

• Provides proof of completing one of the following:

  1. A copy of the “certificate of completion” of a nursing assistant program approved by Arizona State Board of Nursing (or
    letter from the program) OR
  2. Proof of completing a 120 hour nursing assistant program approved by another state / territory OR
  3. Proof of completing a 75 hour nursing assistant program approved by another state / territory AND
    Proof of working as a nursing assistant for an additional 45 hours OR
  4. Proof of graduation from an approved RN or LPN program or holds a valid RN/LPN license or meets educational requirements for RN/LPN licensure in Arizona

• Is active on a nursing assistant register in another state AND meets one of the following:

  1. Is currently working in nursing doing nursing assistant activities even if the job description or title does not say certified
    nursing assistant OR
  2. Has worked as a nursing assistant for at least 160 hours within the past 2 years OR
  3. Has completed a nursing assistant training program and passed the required exam within the past 2 years
   What are the fees for Certification by Endorsement?

All fees are in U.S. dollars and are non-refundable.

  • The application fee is $50.00.
  • Credit/debit card
   I've submitted my application to the Board, now what?

1) Submit the proof of nurse aide registration form (found here) to your current state of certification including documentation/proof of passing test. Some states charge a fee for completion of this form. Check with the state in which you are registered/certified to find out the fee you must pay BEFORE sending the proof of registration form to your current state of certification. You must be active and in good standing to obtain endorsement in Arizona. The state will return the proof of registration form directly to the Arizona State Board of Nursing.

2) Complete a fingerprint card. If the results of your fingerprint check show a positive criminal history, an investigation may be started and you will not be certified until the investigation is done. This may take 4 to 6 months.

   How long will it take for me to get a certificate?

That depends on you and the Arizona State Board of Nursing. The process we use when we receive your application in the mail room includes: 

▪ Opening the mail, clocking in the time that your application was received, documenting the payment that was received, and distributing the application to the licensing tech that will process your application.

▪ The licensing tech will review your application and prepare it to go to the person who scans your application. After the application is scanned, it is then verified, and then entered into our database. You will not be able to “track” the progress of your application, until it has been entered into our database. Once in our database, it will then show up in the AZBN License Lookup.

▪ The Nurse Practice Act rules state that the Arizona State Board of Nursing (AZBN) has up to 30 days, from the receipt of your application, to send you a deficiency notice. This notice will tell you exactly what is needed from you in order for us to be able to issue you a license. It is very important that you read this notice so that you know what else you need to submit. 

Once all of the requirements are met, the average time to issue you a certificate is 3 days for endorsement applicants.

   How long does the Board have to process my application?

The Board is required to process applications for certification within certain time periods, per Nurse Practice Act R4-19-102. Applicable statute and section: A.R.S §§ 32-1606(B)(11), 32-1648, 32-1650.04; R4-19-807.

Item Days
Board Overall Time Frame Without Investigation 150
Board Overall Time Frame With Investigation 270
Board Administrative Completeness Review Time Frame 30
Applicant Time to Respond to Deficiency Notice 270
Board Substantive Review Time Frame Without Investigation 120
Board Substantive Review Time Frame With Investigation 240
Applicant Time to Respond to Comprehensive Written Request 150
   How can I help to make my application process go faster?

▪ Read the instructions very carefully before you submit your application.

▪ Make sure you complete each question on the application, leaving no blanks.

▪ Enclose a copy of acceptable documentation of lawful presence with your application.

▪ After approximately 2-3 weeks of submitting your application, go to AZBN License Lookup to check on the progress of your application. It will show you what is still pending.

   I've been criminally charged or convicted of a felony. What should I do?

Reporting of Criminal Charges

Applicants for licensure/certification must notify the Board of criminal charges within 10 days of being charged. For further information go to Reporting Criminal Charges.

Felony Convictions

According to A.R.S. § 32-1606(B), an applicant for certified nursing assistant is not eligible for certification if the applicant has any felony convictions and has not received an absolute discharge from the sentences for all felony convictions. The absolute discharge from the sentence for all felony conviction(s) must be received 3 or more years before submitting this application. If you cannot prove that the absolute discharge date is 3 or more years, the Board will notify you that you do not meet the requirements for certification.

   What is a deficiency notice?

When you submit an application, the Board will send you a deficiency notice identifying any elements of the application process which remain outstanding. If you fail to respond to a deficiency notice within the applicable time period, your application will be withdrawn. After withdrawal, if you are still interested in obtaining licensure you would need to submit a new application and applicable fee.

Arizona State Board of Nursing - Nursing Regulatory Journal
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Application Waiver
Pursuant to HB 2372 (A.R.S. section 41-1080.01), the Arizona State Board of Nursing began processing license application fee waivers in FY2018. As of ...
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
New dates for Nurse Licensure Compact webinars for public
At the link below are new dates for the remainder of 2019 for the public NLC educational webinars. Webinar Summer and Fall 2019 Dates
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Kratom Fact Sheet for Healthcare Professionals
Please see the below fact sheet for information about Kratom. Fact Sheet
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Arizona State Board of Nursing Considers Complaints Against Valerie Brehm, Kathryn DelReal, and Mckenzie Gillies
On May 16, 2019, the Arizona State Board of Nursing, in an open meeting, considered investigations pending against Valerie Brehm, Kathryn DelReal, and...


Statement of locations where all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing will be posted.

Pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431.02(A)(1)(a), the Arizona State Board of Nursing will post all notices of the meetings of the Arizona State Board of Nursing Meetings and any of its committees and subcommittees on the Board's website at Notices will indicate the date, time, and place of the meeting and will include an agenda or information concerning the manner in which the public may obtain an agenda for the meeting.